Let’s Chat.

You, me, my mind, and a computer…

It’s Really Not About Me……..or You. May 19, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Laura @ 6:52 pm

I will preface by saying this:
You know those shirts that say “It’s All About Me”…..?
Yeah. Well I hate those.

K, now on to the blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m learning a LOT about myself lately. God is obviously bringing out tons of aspects in my life that have been so comfortably hidden in that safe little pocket in my mind. Although very humbling, it’s also taught me a lot about my wonderful maker.

Fancy that, huh?

The fact that I’m finally eager to learn and be more concerned about the ways and the thoughts of the the magnificent maker of the universe rather than my own measily little world. It took me, what, 21 selfish years to realize that, nope. It’s really NOT about me. Or anyone else for that matter.

And, let me tell ya, I like it.

Even in this time of, what seems like, uncertainty… I know all too well (and He has proven time and time again) that my God has everything under control.

So, let’s go down the list of things that seem overwhelming in my life and how I should deal with them…Kidding. Let’s not do that because I’m pretty sure that most of the people reading this here blog don’t necessarily want to know what I may or may not be struggling with on a bullet point basis (if you’re interested, let’s talk it over with white chocolate mochas in hand).

Now, I don’t want you to think that my life is chaotic right now. Actually, it’s the opposite. God has me in a season of rest, and sometimes those seasons are even more frustrating than the others. I want to get in school, volunteer, do this, do that… but God continues to shut doors. I need to sit back and let things happen (I’m pretty antsy sometimes).

All this to say that the biggest thing I’ve learned in this season is that (drum roll please)……I know my God and I will trust Him even when He is silent. I know the way He cares for His children; the way He cares for me. I know His faithfulness and He has proven it in my life, even though He didn’t have to. I know His mercies; how they wash over me with each new day. I know that what He says is the definition of truth and I can stake my life on His word and His word only. Thank you, Jesus.

Each new day is full of the richest promises. Promises that can never be broken. Promises spoken directly from His heart to mine.

So bring it on, uncertainty. I will not be afraid to be surrounded by uncertainty anymore. It only increases my faith and causes my heart to yearn more. Each day is a gift. I desire to walk in the spirit at all times… loving and living and giving and serving with every fiber of my being. Every minute, every single day, knowing that each day is only moving me closer to the day of all days, when I will finally see His face.

But there’s no time to waste, my time here is limited. I need to stop focusing on where I’M going and what’s ahead for ME.

What about God? Where is HE headed and what’s ahead in HIS plan?”It’s all about HIM” (let’s send in the new design for that t-shirt, what do ya think?)

 

One Response to “It’s Really Not About Me……..or You.”

  1. Megan Says:

    my friend actually has a really cute t-shirt, and all it says on it is “It’s not about me”…. what a great conversation starter! ๐Ÿ™‚

    So there’s this part in a hillsong song (weird words to place together) that says “Shine Your light, and let the whole world see, for the glory of the risen King” and me and my friend Mary were talking about how we think of it as “Jesus, shine your light through me, so that the whole world can see and you will be glorified by it”….we make it personal… about us… because we are girls…. lol

    but my friend Adam was saying how he thinks something different when he sings that song. He is asking “God, shine your light in on this dark world so that they can see You in your glory”….

    I thought it was interesting how us girls make everything (even worship) so personal, but Adam was not making it about him at all! It was all about God and the world.

    it definitely got me thinking how I need to be thinking. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a comment